What a week and wise words found on the Canteen Toliet door!

Well what a week and weekend! Slightly fell apart on Monday night with all the loose ends of trying to raise all this money and the wandering of whether this really well happen.  But due to the strength of my Mum and other amazing friends, including the lovely Jo, who is out in Mexico doing a placement very similar to myself, who have all had amazing words of encouragement and kindness, I have pulled myself together and got a’going again.

So this week have…. Updated my art auction and grand draw or prizes, so go see the amazing piece of art and vouchers that have been donated to me to help raise the money for the women and children I will be working with.

I have also exciting heard back from ICYE mexico and who have confirmed my placement… drum roll please….

Casa de la Cultura Carlos Briseno

Based in Ocotlan, Jalisco, which is down the bottom to the left a bit! (can tell I’m going to get lost on this placement!!)  This Mexican charity helps work in a city with major problems as unemployment, addictions and alcoholism are within the communities.  It works alongside children, young adults and women promoting cultural development, restoring pride and rediscovering dignity through art and educational workshops.  Feeling excited by this opportunity, however slight nervous and oh yes, still need to learn spanish!!

WHAT YOU KNOW LITTLE SPANISH, I hear you yell at me,  yes I like a challenge, should have learnt it when my lovely spanish friend Ana, lived in Southville with me, or at school or at evening classes.  My words of wisdom to you and to your future children, GO LEARN A LANGUAGE!!! when you are young and more able to pick up things easier!  Its shocking in this country how we don’t do this more in our education system! So Big up the MFL department at my school, with Jess, Jen, Najat and resting Anna (who’s about due) Amazing work that they are doing and such a bootiful department too!!

Anyway rant over, off my soap box! and down the library to get a CD to learn spanish, oh and a spanish dictionary!

What else has happen…. My back sale at school on Monday raised a fab £65, so thank you to everyone that brought a yummy cupcake. Had a dress exchange – piles and piles of clothes appeared, raising another AMAZING £88, so againthank you to everyone that donated clothes or came.  I think that piles of cake and savoury snacks (cooked by the gorgeous Elodie) helped us pile through the mountains of clothes stacked up around my house.  Considering I’m moving out in less than 3 weeks and should be clearing my room, I have 6 black bags, FULL of clothes to sell and raise more fund with.. so watch out Cabot people, dress exchange will be coming to you!

I was very good and didn’t get any clothes, though very tempted – Hannah S, you have one amazing wardrobe is all I’m saying!!

What else…. oh yipeeee all paper work back and Katie I promise I’ll send it today!!! (e.g. CRB checks have come through, health form is back from the quacks, new passport has arrived with strange-looking woman inside!)

Next weekend is the ICYE training camp, I’m hoping that no assault courses with muddy pits of water with have to be scaled or gone through. Looking forward to seeing my cousin and her fella, who will be attending too.  Though sad as can’t be with my Aunt who village is having a SHEEP FAIR (think with no sheep) but 1940 themed and brilliant day out, so if near Overton, Hampshire, go pay it a visit.

I again can’t express my gratitude to the people who know me, kinda know me and don’t know me at all who are showing their support and generosity in their donations both money and also gift vouchers and time and effort! It really is amazing and put strength in loving humans!!

Special thanks to..

Solly, Shelly, Jane, Sarah, Charlotte, Holly, Jen for dress exchange

Mrs Marshall for giving her time up to get some more vouchers for the GRAND DRAW

My Aunt for her love and first bid xxx My mum for icing cakes and putting up with my down moment (ok, think I’m going to cry….)

My Pops for his continuing email, the company MUST be good for something??

My cousin (twice removed??) Pauline and Family for posting millions of travel books for the Grand Draw!

Elodie for just being amazing housemate and so gorgeous! And my very kind and gentlemanly landlord Tim.  And foxy ex-housemate Ana!

All people who have donated some art work, Jen Atkins, Fiona, B, Angie.  (if you’re an artist and want to donate anything, please email me)

All the gang at Cabot for putting up with my notices and cupcakes. Especially the rocking ‘Bwing’ and sexy MLF department!

For my other special friends in Bristol and Bath who are just there for me!! Thank you

And for all the businesses that have given gift certificates and vouchers

Atkinson Spa House

Bristol Blue Glass

Bristol Ferries
Cafe Avenue

Relaxation Centre

Harbourside,
Keratin Hairdressers

Parks Hairdressing

Spotted Cow
The Mill House
Watershed
Tesco
Yep did cry, right trying to find a music venue for free…. and to write some more letters and drop in to promote the Grand Draw and Art Auction! oh and to spell check this post! Sorry for any grammar and spelling issues I have!

One response to “What a week and wise words found on the Canteen Toliet door!

  1. Pingback: Kat’s Clothes Swap | shipshapeandbristolfashion·

Leave a comment